Trevor Mask notes Florida CFO Jeff Atwater’s Appointments of Former Travelers CEO Nancy Baily and Engineering Consultant Rob Wallace to Citizens Property Insurance Board of Governors

Trevor Barnes Mask's Government Legal Blogs

Licensed for 14 years

Attorney in Sunrise, FL

Insurance Journal reported on August 16, 2011, that Florida Chief Financial Officer Jeff Atwater has appointed former Travelers Insurance CEO Nancy Baily and engineering consultant Rob Wallace to Citizens Property Insurance Corporation’s Board of Governors.  The article is reprinted below:

Florida CFO Announces Citizens Appointments

August 16, 2011

Florida CFO Jeff Atwater has announced the appointments of Nancy Baily and Rob Wallace to the board of governors for Citizens Property Insurance Corp.  

"With Nancy’s vast experience in the private insurance industry and Rob’s deep understanding of the financial impact of decisions made in Tallahassee, I am confident that they will be great assets to the board and Florida’s insurance consumers," Atwater says. "They will be diligent and insightful in the important work ahead."

Nancy Baily is a former chair of the Florida Insurance Council with nearly 20 years of experience in the insurance industry. She most recently served as the president and CEO of Travelers of Florida, the second largest provider of property & casualty insurance in the U.S. She is currently the executive director of the Florida Chapter of the ALS Association, a non-profit organization that helps patients and families struggling with Lou Gehrig’s Disease.

Rob Wallace is a lifelong resident of Tampa, where he has been a civil and environmental engineer for more than 35 years. He helped found and serves as the president of Environmental Engineering Consultants, Inc., a firm that assists manufacturers and property owners with managing engineering and environmental risks. In 1994, Wallace was elected to the Florida House of Representatives serving northwest Hillsborough and northern Pinellas counties.

Service terms for all eight members of Citizens’ board of governors expired on August 1. Board members are appointed by the governor, the CFO, the Senate President, and the House Speaker. Each person appoints two board members, (one serves a 3-year term, the other a 2-year term).

Speaker Dean Cannon, R-Winter Park, has reappointed Carlos Lacasa for a 2-year term and appointed Christopher Gardner for a 3-year term; Senate President Mike Haridopolos, R-Melbourne, has reappointed Carol Everhart for a 2-year term and Tom Lynch for a 3-year term. Gov. Rick Scott has not announced his appointments.

‹ Blogs Home