Criminal Law in the State of Tennessee – Part 2 - Criminal Law Legal Blogs Posted by Attorneys - Lawyers.com

Criminal Law in the State of Tennessee – Part 2

Convictions of both misdemeanors and felonies are both serious; however, they carry far different penalties. For one thing, a great number of employment applications will ask if you have been convicted of a felony or a crime involving dishonesty. Perhaps the reason for this is due to the fact that these types of crimes are more readily admissible in evidence. The different crimes in the State of Tennessee are defined in Chapter 39 of the Tennessee Code Annotated. Misdemeanors are classified as follows: • Class A misdemeanors: Not more than 11 months, 29 days in prison and up to $2,500 fine. • Class B misdemeanors: Not more than six months in jail and up to $500 fine. • Class C misdemeanors: Not more than 30 days in jail and up to $50 fine. Felonies are classified as follows: • Class A felonies: Not more than 60 years in prison and up to $50,000 fine. • Class B felonies: Not more than 30 years in prison and up to $25,000 fine. • Class C felonies: Not more than 15 years in prison and up to $10,000 fine. • Class D felonies: Not more than 12 years in prison and up to $5,000 fine. • Class E felonies: Not more than six years in prison and up to $3,000 fine. Should you need to consult a criminal defense attorney with questions about your options or the process, either call (423) 424-6208 or send your email address and question confidentially to Joneslaw08@gmail.com. Web: http://www.jonesandassociateslawfirm.com.

View Attorney Profile